Masters Degrees In Psychology

The Discipline of Psychology offers the following Masters Degrees:

  • By coursework and research:
    Clinical, Counselling, Educational, Industrial, Research Psychology and Health Promotion, SARETI Masters (MSocSc) in Research Ethics.
  • By research dissertation only: Psychology and Society: Research in Critical Psychology and social issues.
    Standard Research Masters degree in Psychology.

Click below for the following documents

If you wish to apply for Masters in 2014, all of the below items need to be completed and returned to the Discipline by the 12th July 2013:

University of KwaZulu-Natal bursaries:

University of KwaZulu-Natal Application Form 2013 NB: Note 2014 Application fee on letter to master students eg. Local students R160.00  

Application Form for Currently Registered  


These Masters Degrees are offered on the Howard College (Durban) and Pietermaritzburg campuses of UKZN (Please see table below).

There is considerable competition for admission to these qualifications. Preference is given to students with good academic results, and to those proficient in an African language.

There are various forms of financial assistance available on application from UKZN including scholarships and bursaries. Students are invited to apply for admission to any of the courses listed in the table below:


Name of Qualifications


Closing dates

Interview Dates

Clinical Psychology

Durban & Pietermaritzburg

9 July 2010

19 August 2010

Counselling Psychology

Durban& Pietermaritzburg

9 July 2010

20 August 2010

Educational Psychology


9 July 2010

20 August 2010

Research Psychology


29 Oct 2010

11 & 12 Nov 2010

Industrial/Organisational Psychology


30 Sep 2010

21 & 22 Oct 2010

Health Promotion


30 Sep 2010

14 & 15 Oct 2010

Psychology & Society (by Dissertation only)


30 Sep 2010

20 Oct 2010 

Research Ethics (SARETI)


To be announced

As required

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved