Discipline of Psychology




The Honours degree in Psychology at the University of KwaZulu-Natal (Pietermaritzburg Campus) is for candidates who have achieved reasonably good results in their undergraduate degree.  This Honours programme is designed to provide a critical and conceptual base for students wishing to proceed to higher degree studies in psychology.

Modules offered include: Research Fundamentals, the Research Project, Advanced Topics in African Psychology, Counselling and Therapeutics, Psychopathology, Gender and Sexuality, Psychological Assessment, African Feminism Womanism, and Negofeminism, Conceptual Foundations, Social Psychology, Community Psychology and Service Learning, and Career Psychology in South Africa.

The duration of the programme is one academic year and it is offered on a full-time basis, i.e., the programme is not presented via distance learning. All modules are taught during the day and attendance is compulsory. All lectures and seminars for this Honours programme are conducted in English. Similarly, all learning materials and assessment activities are presented in English.


Selection for the UKZN Honours Programme in Psychology is primarily on merit, based on achievement in the undergraduate Psychology programme.  The Discipline of Psychology reserves the right to take other factors into account when selecting candidates.  Applicants must have majored in the required number of undergraduate Psychology credits at the first, second and third year levels. Acceptance into the programme depends on the number of places available.

Applications open during July and close on the 30th of September of the year preceding intended study. LATE OR INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE INCLUDED IN THE SELECTION PROCESS. Successful candidates will be admitted at the beginning of each academic year.

Please note: All details and documentation regarding the application process will be made available on this website when applications open.


Honours Programme Coordinator: Dr Phindile L. Mayaba

  • Discipline of Psychology
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal, Pietermaritzburg Campus
  • Email address: MayabaP@ukzn.ac.za

Postgraduate Administrator: Ms Priya Konan

  • Discipline of Psychology
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal, Pietermaritzburg Campus
  • Telephone number: 033 260 5549
  • Email address: Konan@ukzn.ac.za